New Year, eh?

Posted: December 31, 2009 in People, Quotes
Tags: , , , , ,

For more than half a decade now, I’ve been reluctant to wishing people on New Year’s eve. Not that I wish on most other occasions, though. However, the reason for (lack of) my NY wishes is simple:

Every time I’m about to wish someone for the NY, I tend to add ‘ever after’. The logic being that I wish them the best not just in the new year but also for rest of their lives. But then, having wished ‘ever after’ once, wouldn’t next year’s wishes be redundant now?

And for those who say, just renew those wishes on the next NYE: why NYE and not some other date? It’s after all just a random date that occurred on this day because either Julius C or Pope G began their calendars on a particular day. Had they chosen another day, your current NYE could’ve easily fallen on, say, 14th June.

As for the special occasion stuff, I just love this dialogue from the movie ‘Sideways’. When Miles says he is waiting for a special occasion to open is ’61 Cheval Blanc, his friend Maya puts matters in perspective :

The day you open a ’61 Cheval Blanc, that’s the special occasion.

It’s a special occasion when you make it special, and not when someone (or the world) announces it to be special.

So, to all my friends out there: I wish you well for ever. Not just for the coming year, or the job you just landed, or the exam tomorrow. Forever. But I shall not say it out loud every time someone expects or asks me to.

The coloured lines above are from this article in New York Times. I liked it, and if you have some patience, I suggest you read it too. (HT: someone on twitter)

Leave a Reply

