Rain is a good thing

Posted: July 30, 2010 in Heart, Photos, Places, Quotes
Tags: , , , , ,

I…, originally uploaded by raven_b.

My daddy spent his life lookin’ up at the sky
He’d cuss, kick the dust, sayin’ son it’s way too dry
It clouds up in the city, the weather man complains
But where I come from, rain is a good thing

Rain makes corn, corn makes whiskey
Whiskey makes my baby feel a little frisky
Back roads are boggin’ up, my buddies pile up in my truck
We hunt our honeys down, we take ’em into town
Start washin’ all our worries down the drain
Rain is a good thing

Ain’t nothin’ like a kiss out back in the barn
Wringin’ out our soakin’ clothes, ridin’ out a thunderstorm
When tin roof gets to talkin’; that’s the best love we made
Yea where I come from, rain is a good thing

Rain makes corn, corn makes whiskey
Whiskey makes my baby feel a little frisky
Back roads are boggin’ up, my buddies pile up in my truck
We hunt our honeys down, we take ’em into town
Start washin’ all our worries down the drain
Rain is a good thing

Farmer Johnson does a little dance
Creeks on the rise, roll up your pants
Country girls, they wanna cuddle
Kids out playin’ in a big mud puddle

Rain makes corn, corn makes whiskey
Whiskey makes my baby feel a little frisky
Back roads are boggin’ up, my buddies pile up in my truck
We hunt our honeys down, we take ’em into town
Start washin’ all our worries down the drain
Rain is a good thing

Rain is a good thing, rain is a good thing, rain is a good thing

– Song by Luke Bryan

Yes, unlike most people from the last few cities I’ve lived in – Calcutta, Bombay and London – I love rain. Being born in a mostly dry, wheat/rice – bowl up in the country helps.

Perhaps those country origins (or kentry as they say in some parts) also explain why I’m possible the only person amongst all my friends who likes country music ;)

P.S.: If you wanna hear to the song above, it’s available on YouTube here (embedding disabled by EMI).

Comments
  1. […] think my love for snow is similar to my love for rain – having grown up in a relatively dry region, I’ve always been attracted to […]

Leave a Reply

