1/365: Jaywalking in 2011

Posted: January 1, 2011 in Cycling, People, Photos, Places
Tags: , , ,


Images from Me (Left), Shumarani (Center) and Big Picture (Right). Click on image for links.

The daily post blog has suggested a topic for today’s post: 3 countries I’d like to visit in 2011.

This is a hard topic to cover since 3 is such a small number. Nonetheless, here are some of the destinations I hope to visit this year:

  1. India, of course. It’s home. It’s where my heart still is. And it’s where most of my friends and family are. So far the plan is to visit for a week or so in April. However, if the situation for me in LDN doesn’t improve, might go sooner and for longer. Places in India I’d like to visit: Goa, Bombay & Karnal. Places I might have to visit: Delhi, Karnal, Chennai. Still, it’s all India. Where my heart still is.
  2. Netherlands. It’s so close. It’s full of cyclists. It’s beautiful. I wonder why I haven’t been there already. Places I’d like to visit: Amsterdam-Rotterdam-Utrecht, Delft, Leiden and Haarlem. If I do visit Netherlands, then a short jump over the border to visit Antwerp, Brugges and Gent wouldn’t be too out of order, would it? Might also add a short trip for a bike ride with Marco in Luxembourg. So the short trip to Holland may turn into a slightly longer one through BeNeLux. Not intentional ;)
  3. Now this is a hard to choose. There are so many places I wish to visit this year – Spain, Portugal, Italy (again), Czech Republic, Austria, Croatia, Greece, Turkey, Egypt, Brazil, Argentina, US (West coast and friends in Texas), Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam and Morocco.
    However, since I’m being forced to pick only one, I’d pick Cuba. Yes, I really wish to visit the island – slow life, old & fancy cars, (relatively) empty beaches and a country stuck in the last century. I’ve always been fascinated with it and would love to get a dekko before it too is taken over my the global culture of golden arches and fast cars. It could be a perfect winter vacation too with its warm weather. If we do get going to Cuba, might fit in a visit to some countries of the West Indies too. Or the Bahamas. just for fun :)

There you go – that’s my top 3 countries to visit in 2011. Will definitely visit at least 1, would be great if I can visit all 3. But that’s not all. I’ve deliberately left out the places in British Isles that I’d almost definitely be visiting this year – Scotland (again), Isle of Man and, hopefully, Ireland (Republic of) – and the ones that I’d wish to visit – Oxford (again), Cambridge, Manchester, parts of Wales, Lake District, Stoke and Isle of Wight.

So, there. Now, what’s your choice of top 3 places you’d like to visit in 2011? Share in comments or, better, write a post and drop a link :)

Cheers!

Comments
  1. Ms.N says:

    So many places for 2011… what is plan for post-June?

    • raven says:

      Other than the India trip, all others would ideally be post-June. The low countries are high on my list while Tuscany is high on Rags’. It’d be lovely if we could fit Cuba in too, though seems unlikely.

      What are your plans for the year?

  2. […] Cairngorms National Park. This is apart from other plans for jaywalking overseas that I mentioned here in my first #postaday2011 post of the […]

Leave a Reply

