5/365: Text or Talk

Posted: January 5, 2011 in Misc., People, Photos
Tags: , , , , , ,

After much grieving over yesterday’s topic, today we have an easy one: Preferred mode of communication – Text / Talk / Other.

Now, just ‘Text or Talk’ doesn’t cut it for me – the form of text or talk highly determines which I prefer. Given that I’d been thinking about this just a few days back, my choice ladder is clear:

  1. A face-to-face talk trumps everything else for me.
  2. Handwritten note or letter. Yup I’m an old timer at heart.
  3. Message in a bottle. I’m a bit romantic too.
  4. Twitter, Email & Kik. Though, if it has to be digital, make it digital text. Also, personal emails in my inbox make me smile.
  5. SMS / Texts. If you aren’t into the web yet, then short messages on cell usually work fine.
  6. Skywriting. But only if the message is to be broadcast.
  7. Phone Calls* & Gtalk voice chats. Nope, I’m not a fan of dithering over long voice calls/chats.
  8. Skype/Gtalk video chats. And I hate dithering over video chats even more since I can’t even use time to work/read/eat on the side now. And I need to dress up.
  9. Typed/printed notes, letters & memos. If you want to use paper, write. If you have to type, email.

There might be more modes of communication around but these are the ones that come to mind right now so I shall stick to them. If you remind me of more, shall insert them in the list.

Now, taking hint from the Post-A-Day team, I shall host a poll – my first poll – asking any readers of this blog to share their choice of the mode of communications.

I’d say, take the poll above to share your choice of text / talk. Or use ‘others’ to list your whole list in order. The best thing to do, though, would be to return to type out your own blog-post and share it here in comments or by trackback :)

So, there. Posting streak now into day 5. Only 360 more days to go and I shall have survived this challenge.

Cheers!


*Except when speaking with old, close friends after a long while. That is the only exception where this goes up to #3. It also drops to bottom of ranking when it comes in the form of a telephonic interview – I hate them!

Comments
  1. Mithyavadini says:

    Not. Fair. The poll doesn’t have multiple options. My preference is inclined towards what’s cheaper ;)

    • raven says:

      Ahh, sorry for that. This in-built poll function in WordPress only allows very basic polls. But then, you had the comment space to give your feedback, and you did ;)

Leave a Reply

