11/365: Remember me for nothing.

Posted: January 11, 2011 in Misc., People
Tags: , ,

Call me timid but, at 31, I don’t think I’m ready yet to start thinking about leaving a legacy.

If I have to be remembered, I’d like it to be for being a simple guy who refused to live by anyone else’s rules. (Pretty much true so far, I just mash up all sets of rules to create a new hybrid set)

And be remembered as a good son, brother and partner. (Nah, none of ’em is gonna happen)

Also, I’d like to be remembered as someone who was almost obese at 28 but became, and stayed, super fit since turning 31. (Might happen)

Maybe a few close friends will remember me as the guy who never stopped bugging them to take up cycling. (Already happening)

But really, I’d rather not be remembered much at all. I’d prefer to just live this life all the way – my way.  I want to live just the way I want to and not hold myself back thinking about the legacy my actions would leave.

So, there. That’s all I’ve got to say about being remembered. How about you? I am sure you aren’t as timid and selfish as me and would like to be remembered once you are gone. Do tell me how you’d want to be remembered, or how not. That’s it for now.

Cheers!


There’s one good reason to be remembered though. If being remembered means that I get to go away BEFORE all the ones I love, then I don’t mind being remembered at all. Yup, still the selfish me.

Comments
  1. […] 11/365: Remember me for nothing (ravenbarks.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

