21/365: More than cycling…

Posted: January 21, 2011 in Cycling, Photos, Places
Tags: , , , , ,
On the road again...

Cycling, Scotland and blogging about it :)

Over at DailyPost, Scott shares topic of the day: What’s the most important thing you accomplished in 2010? How do I plan to top it in 2011?

As I’ve written time and again here, my favourite accomplishment of 2010 was the return to regular cycling. Don’t think there’s any point writing more about that. So, I’ll write in brief about how I plan to top that, and some other things I enjoyed in 2010, this year.

Cycling in 2010 was easy for me to pursue since I had little other demands on my time. In 2011, however, I shall be returning to full-time work soon and thus may not find time to cycle so easily. The challenge, that I have accepted, is to continue cycling on an almost daily basis – weather permitting – despite the work pressures and to top the total mileage of 2010, preferably by at least 50%.

I sort of returned to blogging in 2010. Compared to 2009, I blogged a lot more and a lot more frequently, though still not at the levels I blogged at during the 2002-2006 period. In 2011, I plan to top all my blogging records so far by posting more posts and posting them more regularly. And, to complete this postaday2011 challenge with as few misses as possible. Preferably with no misses at all.

Finally, travelling in 2010 was marked with that solitary trip to Scotland. The place was beautiful and the trip turned out to be one of the best ever. In 2011, I’d like to top it by visiting Scotland again and bettering that first wonderful trip – visit the outer Hebrides, cycle around Skye like in the photo above, cycle the whole length of Great Glen Way and, if I still have time, to hike in the Cairngorms National Park. This is apart from other plans for jaywalking overseas that I mentioned here in my first #postaday2011 post of the year.

What else… Yes. In 2011, I also plan to out earn the raven in 2010 ;)

So, there. Those would be the three, maybe four, things that I started /returned to / enjoyed in 2010 and intend to top this year. What do you think of these plans, doable? Do drop in a comment. And share your accomplishments of 2010 and how you plan to top them in 2011.

Cheers!

Comments
  1. Ms.N says:

    Scott is asking a lot of heavy questions.

  2. I just started cycling last year. Did about 1400 miles from June – December. I plan to really get after it this year. I’m trying to figure out how to squeze a little more time in for cycling around work schedule too.

    • raven says:

      Thanks for the comment Mark. Really sorry didn’t reply earlier.

      I too (re)started cycling last year. Did a little close to 2000 miles from April-November. It’ll be much harder for me too this year as I’m expecting more demands on time from work & family.
      Here’s to hoping we both succeed :)

      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

