38/365: Tangled Web

Posted: February 7, 2011 in Misc.
Tags: ,

Today’s topic: Could you live without the internet for a week? For a month?

The answer, like always, is ‘it depends’.

It depends on what you define as living.

  • If living is defined as what I could have been doing as a shopkeeper back in my home town, then the answer is definitely yes (for a week) and most probably yes (for a month).
  • If living is defined as retiring back in Goa, Himachal or Uttaranchal, the answer is just yes. In fact, so much so that even if someone offered me internet for free out there, I wouldn’t want it. I will also refuse a mobile phone. A land line phone connection at home would be more than enough for my needs, and an overkill for my wants.
  • If living is defined as we’ve been living for the last 4-5 years, the answer is an unequivocal, unqualified ‘No’. We need to be connected all the time – for emails from work, movie times on flixster, public posturing on twitter and even important stuff like almost all our banking. There is no way we could survive without an internet connection.

Taking that question another way – if I was challenged to survive without internet for a week / month, could I do it? Of course I could. Most of us could. In fact, a lot of time, a lot of us even want to do that – to disconnect ourselves from the uber connected state that we’ve started living in. But will any of us go do that? Un likely.

Another thought that arises from today’s topic is how vital, how integrated the internet has become to our lives that we are even discussing a question like this. And how ironic is it that we are discussing this topic on the same medium – the internet.

Do you think you can ‘live’ without the internet? More importantly, can you live your current life without the internet? I don’t think so. If you think you can, do share how.

Cheers!


P.S.: Today I tried, and almost succeeded, in sticking to the topic. There are so many points around this topic to go off on a tangent but I kept myself in check. Helps keep the post short as well :)

Comments
  1. kolembo says:

    Haha! I call that ‘skirting round the danger-zone!’

    you know, I’m so pleasantly surprised. To be honest, my poetry blog is what I’m really concentrating on so I’m using my postaday2011 to discipline myself and see if I can actually accomplish postaday for the WHOLE year and not get bored by Evening.

    I’m ADHD, so things excite me very quickly, take me over, I accomplish everything in one day, then I’m over it and looking for the next thing.

    The computer almost went out the window last week!

    Anyway, you’re blog is extremely interesting, and now you’re in trouble! Now you have ‘customer’!

    • raven says:

      Hey, thanks for the comment & the like!

      I’ve been ADHD as well for about 2.5 decades now, so this blogging challenge is really a challenge to goad, cajole and threaten myself to persevere for one whole year. And it is your comments and likes that help keep myself going.. so big thanks for that.

      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

