Android market restrictions

Posted: March 17, 2011 in Misc.
Tags: , , , , ,

I have been a fan of Android almost right from the beginning primarily for its open nature compared to the Apple ecosystem. Thus, you can imagine my surprise when I came across this (look at the pop-up tool-tip in the photo below):

Android Market - Carrier Restriction

I hadn’t so far realised that Google had enabled carrier specific app restrictions on the phone.

More importantly, I wondered how this is implemented since I’ve moved from my carrier’s flavour of Froyo to a stock build and, subsequently, Gingerbread. Does this mean that Google monitors which carrier I’m using the phone with and accordingly allows/restricts applications?

I am surprised by this restriction by Google. And not in a good way.

Leave a Reply

